RSS

Coping and Slowing Down

17 Jan

Kudos to myself.

1.) Because I manage to pull myself up from my bed this early morning despite the fact that I stopped doing the mockups just a few hours before I went to bed. Plus the fact that I am taking meds now (which seems not to be working) and antibiotics makes me drowsy and have this uneasiness in my stomach.
2.)
I’m still sane and manage to control myself and not have those sudden “explosions of emotion” like what had a happened a few days ago.
3.) I am blogging directly. I have the courage of writing down without being conscious of what my mind is thinking and my fingers are transcribing. I have to practice doing this more often.

We are one man down. My boss-friend, the head thinker and only thorn among the roses in our team, is perhaps preparing his day of full meetings in Thailand with our client. They are to present the line of products we are proudly producing. They are to stay there for almost a week. We, the roses, left here in the office. Me, somehow partially manning (and doing) most of his works and have to keep myself cool and poise despite the aggravation that requests coming in left and right may do to me.

I pray that I don’t crack under pressure or at least my body won’t breakdown. *A-chooooo

* Sniff… cough-cough

It’s 7:30 AM, the person who suppose to pickup all thge mockups and sales kit that I am working on since yesterday, is no where in sight. And recalling my list, there’s more to come since the client will have a few more sets of Brand Associates (BAs) to send outside the Philippines!

* Oh, Lordy!

I like what I am doing right now. Believe me. This is the best job I’d ever loved despite the fact it is the most demanding and the least pay I’ve received. But when you are enjoying what you are doing, all is making sense. There some downsides but some my skills are recognized and put to use. Multitasking is inevitable. We are a young and starting design and banding consultancy group. But our load and pace on work is comparable to a big agency. I may sound bragging but that’s the truth. I can proudly say that.

We are challenged. We need to be fast but we had to be very careful on the way. Personally, I have to keep my head above the water. If not answer, at least hear each one questioning what me and team is doing. We work on a non-corporate type of system. We are guerillas. So expect surprises and non-conformity as we expect “violent” reactions from others as well.

At this very day, I now can claim (and finally accepted) that I am a workaholic. Isn’t it obvious? I only stop when my fingers can’t type or my eyes can’t see what’s on my monitor. The demands are high and I know we can deliver. Why stop?

I rememer in one of our weekly client meetings, the client mentioned something that got stuck in my head… we work only for the best, so we should expect the outcome should be it’s best (or something like that…).

BEST.

We are not exactly rushing. It’s bad to rush because it’s prone to mistakes and errors. Well, I say it demands on who is working and how you handle it. Right now, it might be my adrenalin (or the antibiotics) working on me. Why slow down now? But I will… once I delivered EVERYTHING.

And I am writing this, Freddy Mercury of Queen is singing to me an ample song for this blog. And he is indeed right because The Show Must Go On.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 17, 2007 in Realizations

 

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

