RSS

A Concept on Coffee Houses

15 Jul

I was never comfortable going to farther places like Makati or Manila. My friends knew that I am a Quezon City or Ortigas person. But last Saturday, I agreed that we all met up in Robinson’s, not in Galeria as in Ortigas, but Place in Manila.

Yup. I rode the LRT Line 1 again. But let’s reserve that to another blog entry.

Going back, the my Robinson’s Place adventure, since I only went there once in a blue moon and usually with someone who really knows the mall like the back of his hand (hi, Jose!) I am confused to with street it is located: Is it Padre Faura or Pedro Gil? I found out, either way, it has entraces on both streets! Oh well…

We reached it and eat an early dinner in this kapampangan restaurant. But that is not what I am to blog. It’s this extraordinary coffee shop that we accidentally discovered!

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at PhotobucketYes. That’s a coffee shop that you see. I was amazed to see such “fancy” coffee shop. The group decided to try it out. The store is about to close in an hour and a half but we manage to get a really comfy area. Comfy enough that we took opportunity for a photo op:

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

A corner of the area we got. With Atty. Ping and Ate Arma posing. The guy by the window, that’s on the other side, a booth type seat.

What we got was an area with cushioned seats/sofa with throw pillows! Really comfy.

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Now joined by Ate Neth.

What attracted me is the lighted mural in our area.

I can’t resist not to have a picture taken with it.

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

And my “Ate’s” joined in!

Details of the mural:

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

The woman with battered wing in a coffee cup? Playing a sort of violin? Is she a devil or battered mother nature 9because of the leaves and twigs on her head that looks like a horn at first glance)? Conceptual I may say because each one who can see will have an explanation of their own!

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket
I always considered the moon as a masculine entity. Now seeing this would change that idea. Now I see myself as the winged-woman and the moon, my VBF, Jose! The art is really different. And I remember Jose drawing something similar to this… I think.

Now to what we had…

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

I didn’t have all of this. (L-R) Lasagna by Ping, hot choco by Ate Neth and Triple Decker by well, it was shared to all. I wasn;t able to taste it because I am forbidding myself to take much of “sinful desserts”. It’s my cheat day though but I’m actually saving it for…

Tadaaaaahhh!

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

It’s called Son of Dutch. It’s one of the Zonteas(?) they offer. It’s made with Milk Tea, Dutch chocolate syrup and Vanilla Ice Cream. It was good. Really good. Not to sweet and it isn’t bland.

Exploring further on the area, I found this:

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

They have a website and a membership card? Hmmm…

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Their mascot: Captain Pot. This is like a statuette I saw in one of the side tables beside the comfy sofa we sat on. And further exploration…

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Comics? Wow! Here it was explained who’s Capt. Pot and gave us an idea who owns the place. My friends were impressed and me too. They created a story as a marketing campaign! Wise enough, I say.

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Close up of the comic headline.

The group asked I think she’s the head or manager. Indeed one of the owners is a Dutch man and is planning to bring it to Netherlands. They still have satellite stores in Robinson’s Galeria, Mall of Asia and SM North Edsa, I think.

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

If I’ll be in the area, definitely I’ll get back here at Chaikofi and try their other dishes!

Try checking out their website, http://www.chaikofi.com. The store/coffee house is located at the far end of Robinson’s Place, Manila near the Padre Fauna entrance/exit.

 

Leave a Reply

 
