RSS

Coffee, Internet and the Name Game

19 Feb

It’s been awhile since I kind of hang out in a café or coffee shop. It was just one of those spontaneous days. I was to go home in our province but decided to hitch with my really nice neighbor-friend Gou on her way to her work… on a weekend. Since I have my Biggie 2 with me, I decided to give it a try connecting over the net. While exploiting the free wifi in Starbucks Galeria, which is by the way quite fast and stable (free advertisement!)… I decided to get myself my usual: Iced Caramel Macchiato.

It’s the usual procedure: go to the counter, state your order and they ask your name. Well, since I have such an unusual name, I have to spell it aside from saying it: “It’s Nemcy. That’s N-E-M-C-Y.” And still, I got this…

This is the first time that I got “Netsy”. Other names I’ve been baptized with were:
– Mercy
– Marcy
– Nercy
– Mency
– Nancy… without spelling it.
– Nemsy… The nearest of my real name so far.

It just never changed, doesn’t it? May be I should go for just plain Anna or Sam.

Well, at least the internet is stable. Despite the bad name thing, I’ll still come back to that Starbucks branch… if I am in the area with my Biggie of course😉

 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 19, 2008 in Wala lang...

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “Coffee, Internet and the Name Game

  1. Salve

    February 29, 2008 at 7:59 pm

    Nangyayari talaga yan pag di common ang name. Naalala ko nung college, every time na tatawagin ako nung African Prof. namin sa History, kailangan ko syang i-correct lagi. Laging “Salv” ang tawag sakin.

     
  2. Nemcy

    March 13, 2008 at 4:14 pm

    Maikli na ngang pangalan natin, pinapaikli pa noh?😉

     

Leave a Reply

 
