RSS

Gold at the End of the Rainbow

19 Jun

That’s odd. From the time I seated in the call-in cab my tummy’s reacting weird. Am I having butterflies in my stomach or just typical gas reacting quite weird? Perhaps it’s hunger. It’s almost 8pm and I didn’t take any snacks that day. Finishing errands and doing last minute packing. I hate this day. All seemed going wrong. Really. As Gian last Ym-ed me, the only best thing that’s happening is that I’ll be going there and seeing him and Ten… yup, just the two of them.

What else can go wrong today? It was a quite miserable Wednesday.

I reached the airport exactly 2 hours before my designated flight. Remembering how it was the last time I went there, it has some “slight” changes: they gave the entrance a clean, well-lighted look. But other than that, nothing’s new.

Still hours before boarding, I tried looking around the waiting area for food. Well, decent food. Despite the fact that it’s surely pricey, at least it’s decent. After two  rounds, I still haven’t seen anything interesting. I have to eat something. Until in a corner with less people I found a store that sells some sweets and… noodles!!!

Vietnamese Noodles and Bottled Water
Dinner served: I think it’s Vietnamese noodles with 2 small beef I’ve eaten already and one bottle of mineral water that I saved till I reached my destination.

I wasn’t able to instructed the Cebu Pacific attendant to put me by the window, but thank God she did. Unfortunately, I am seated beside 2 young couples. I call them young because they acted that way and the guy, quite loud for his age. Later on I found out, a balikbayan. Just as I expected… mayabang at mahanging amboy. Behind me I think are gay couples, one of which kept on singing “Umbrella”…

Plese close the plane doors, I speak in my head. I just want to go and this over with

Wow! What a time not to bring my old and dusty iPod mini. Reminded myself, 2 hours of flight isn’t long. I’ve endured 18 hours of flight why can’t this one.

But the fun was just starting…

Just as the plane was about to take off, a funny noise was heard… what the f—k? The pilot seemed to try it again, 2nd time, 3rd time… the sound was like when you step on your car breaks it didn’t pass smoothly. Something like that. Then when I looked outside, I think one of the thingies on the right wing was not moving smoothly.

Then the pilot announces… they have “minor” technical problems and might cause the flight be delayed for about 30minutes. Oh boy… this will be the longest flight of my life…

I have not experienced riding a car being towed but now, I can perhaps put in my list of experienced things and cross it out: rode a plane being towed in the flight pad.

As the plane was being towed, the amboy started to tell stories of the flight he had with Cebu Pacific when one of it’s propeller stopped while in flight. Hearing that, I gave him a stern and sharp look. He stopped blabbing for awhile. I hope he got the message.

Who in the right f—king mind would talk about that while on a plane about to take off and has some trouble? ARGH! And thanks to him, the gay couple seemed to picked it up and started talking about some similar story? What?!? I am NOT hearing this… do these people even know where the hell are the propellers located in an airplane.

We have to transfer plane. Waited for almost an hour. Had to walk from gate 10 to gate 3, end to end of the airport.


A few minutes of peace. At times I appreciate being alone.

2 hours of flight was indeed longer. I had a few interrupted naps. What would you expect from a low-cost flight? But I am grateful for such flight. Because if not for that I don’t think I’ll be riding a plane heading for Bangkok. They may curse Cebu Pacific for their services but I salute them… really. They made Asian countries quite near and travelling efficient…. Well, minus the annoying passengers of course.

I envisioned a very impressive and pleasant Suvarnabhumi Airport that I am about to see then. And Gian, perhaps Ten also at the arrival gates. Texted him to inform that I’m already there, I noticed the time in my mobile phone, it’s a few minutes past 1AM… I felt relieved.

Well, feeling lousy, tired and I think some hair at the back of my head are standing still standing up, I walked towards the gates. Felt the cool aircon of the airport…. I am definitely in Bangkok! I saw my reflections by the glass window and it has been perhaps a habit of everyone to fix themselves, I stroke and tried to fix my hair. I saw passengers perhaps of the flight we disembarked from. Long-wait to their faces. I still feel floaty, that feeling you have when ride a roller coaster… light and floaty.

Then when my eyes reached the gates, I saw a familiar face. But it didn’t register to me until he smiled… Oh my… I think my voice was really loud that some co-passengers looked back. All I said was, “Hey! What are you doing here? Aren’t you suppose to be by 5 today?” He smiled. Welcomed me and reached out his hand for a handshake.

I am surprised. Stunned. I could have killed with his smile and if I have a bad heart I could have a heart attack there. Of course, I’m just exaggerating…

That placed a smile on my face. Odd smile that I hard can’t remove until I saw Gian and Ten at the arrival area. Hugged them both assured that I’m safe, not dreaming and is indeed in Bangkok.

It’s over. It’s already Thursday. Wednesday is definitely over.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on June 19, 2008 in Travels and Getaways

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

One response to “Gold at the End of the Rainbow

  1. Carmela

    June 26, 2008 at 8:59 pm

    Hey Nems,

    It’s me, Carmela. Remember Duff? Thaddeus Reantaso, our classmate? He was found dead yesterday at Sta. Cruz after having been drowned along with two other fellow mountaineers. Sorry to bring you this upsetting news.

     

Leave a Reply

 
