RSS

Blast From The Past

02 Aug

Up to now I think I still overwhelmed with what happened last night. I can think of a good intro to catch you attention to read this entry. Ok, let’s just make it straight to the point…

I WATCHED RICK ASTLEY’S LIVE IN MANILA CONCERT LAST NIGHT!!!

YEEEEAAAH!

IT WAS A BLAST!!! I really, REALLY had fun!

Isn’t it obvious? :p

Thanks to Jose, who had pretty good PR contacts that he nabbed 2 tickets for the concert! And who did he picked to be with? ME

(To Jose, thank you, THANK YOU sooooo mu-cho!)

He may not be U2. Or some might be reacting who’s he? Well, people… (bitch mode ON!) you ain’t an authentic 80’s baby if you don’t know him! Yeah, yeah… it’s an evidence that I am OLD, but who cares? When have I denied my age. I was born during the Martial Law era for heaven’s sakes… I adored Aga Muclach (BEFORE, during his younger years, take note of that), I watch Rainbow Brite and Transformers cartoons on TV and I grew up and learned from Batibot and Sesame Street.

Hell, yeah! I am proud to say, again and AGAIN… I WATCHED RICK ASTLEY’S CONCERT HERE IN MY COUNTRY…

The proof…

 

As he said it after his first song, that it took him more than 15 years to come here in the Philippines. Saying that and thanking everyone (including me!) watching last night. 

Perhaps it was really sort of our destiny to watch it. Why? Because:

1) We saw the poster announcing the concert together and SHRIEK in excitement… very same reaction!

2) We both really forgot about this “dream” of ours to watch it together until he texted me last Wednesday, 2 days before the said concert. It really went out of head. I was really surprised that it was last night. Jose also too forgot about it until he got a call from his PR friend.

(Thank you too, PR friend of Jose! Continue sharing your blessings, sweetheart. Good karma ‘yan. *wink*)

3) And check out our location and seat assignment…

 

Seats B1 and B2: Jose blurted out B stands for BAKLA! Hahahahahaha… 

And take note our location: LOWER BOX of Araneta Coliseum. Very strategical in watching concerts in coliseums. Because it might not be front of the stage that you can be showered with the performer’s perspiration or saliva but at least we won’t have a stiff neck looking up!

Our view of the stage…

 

The price… just check the photo. Blessings for the lucky ones, don’t you think… Ü

WOW! I believe that’s the power of PR😉

I don’t know ALL of his songs but definitely I can sing with it Ü The concert started almost an hour late than indicated with a front act of a band singing 80’s songs to liven up the night I guess. Show band – that’s all I can say about the front act. I’ll leave it to Jose to “describe” the band, to tickle your imagination, hehehe.

It’s undeniably obvious that everytime Rick Astley will be mentioned here in the Philippines or by a Filipino it won’t be missed that another Pinoy actor that almost a singer will be mentioned… Rick Astley is synonimous with Roderick Paulate.

I don’t know where it came from but there had been a running joke that some Filipinos thought that what Roderick Paulate sings before (still during the 80’s) was his original songs, ergo, those songs are from Rick Astley. Roderick Paulate sings it really well, almost like the original WITH matching dance steps. Yes! 1980’s is the era of TV shows like That’s Entertainment and Dick and Carmi (Roderick’s show with sexy Carmi Martin). And my memories will not be complete of the 80’s without Roderick Paulate who really had quite a lot of guestings and movies which he leads.

 

And some jokes within my circle of friends learning of Rick Astley’s concert:

Joke 1) that Roderick Paulate will be the front act

Joke 2) that Rick Astley will admit to the audience his long-time secret and reveals his real identity (and then strips off his mask)… that he is Roderick Paulate all along

Jokes… funny… :p

I told my boss-friend and kumpareng Myles that the night won’t be complete if Roderick Paulate won’t be there. And I hope that Jose and I will get a chance to have our pictures taken with him. Hahaha… we’re much more eager to have a picture taken with Roderick than Rick Astley.

Showbiz!!!

My… have you noticed that RICK and be derived from Rode-RICK? Hmmm… perhaps Joke no. 2 is possible…

Choz!

Oh, by the way, he was there all right. And crowd applauded when they noticed him (Roderick) seating in I think row 2 directly in front of the stage…

Oh well, enough of Mr. Paulate. I’ll just dedicate an entry all for him soon😉

Anyway, able to bring in my ever reliable Canon G5 Digicam inside the concert venue, I was able to take photos AND videos of the concert INCLUDING Roderick Paulate being invited by Rick Astley himself to sing on stage!

To Myles, remember when I pointed to you a poster of Rick Astley’s concert and you reacted that you won’t believe that’s how he still looked like now? Check this out:

That’s him all right. No Photoshop, not even lighting correction. My best photo of Rick Astley as he performs in his Manila concert last night. He did gain weight specially in the waist area that’s why perhaps here’s wearing a suit. But cool as he was back then, with that suit he wore a black Adidas shoe!

He also mentioned that he has 2 important women in his life: his 16 year old daughter and his wife (not mentioning if that hisonly wife ir latest wife/family). But he is undeniably old. He openly shows himself drinking something on a cup (2 cups actually, that’s what I saw in front of the platform where the drummer was elevated) and he jokingly asked the crowd if we’d like to see him wear his glasses because he had to read and thank the sponsors.

This is Rick Astley with his spectacles…

My friend Gou said he looks like a salesman of Microsoft (or was that Windows she said?). Anyway, all I remember Gou saying was that and “not Apple ha?”

 

And here, he looks like one of those religious foreign “healing” preachers… hihihi😉

A short intro of that much awaited video I’d be sharing… after 2 or 3 songs from Rick Astley (his 1st song was Together Forever), crowd stood up and danced of course but went wild when said, “… I was told that there’s this man in the crowd…” then BOOM! Rick Astley said the night won’t be complete if he (Roderick) won’t go on stage and will sing and dance with him but that would be at the last part of the concert so people will wait. True enough, he (Rick Astley) did invite Roderick up on stage at his last number (when the artist usually say good night walks out of the stage then comes back after the crowd demands or shouts “more”).

And guess what’s song they sang together?

Click here to view.

Yup! Roderick Paulate’s signature song in most of the TV shows he hosted or guested: Never Gonna Give You Up… but with a twist! Rick Astley played it in an acoustic guitar while they both sing it together, well, mostly it was Roderick singing.

Pardon my screaming. You’ll really get into it. Hihihi.

Now you know why it’s a blast! Ü

P.S.

I am not his big fan but I love singing along with Rick Astley’s songs. The songs are infectious, I guess. But I had goosebumps listening to him sing last night. Man! His voice is still the same!

———-

By far, I think this would be my longest blog entry! Hahaha!

For more video’s check out my youtube.com account, search “nemcita”

For more photos, visit my multiply site: http://nemcy.multiply.com/photos

 

 

 
 

Tags: , , , , ,

One response to “Blast From The Past

  1. Larry

    August 5, 2008 at 8:16 pm

    so didja do a rickroll? haha inggit ako. mejo. kahit ayoko aminin.😀

     

Leave a Reply

 
