RSS

The Second Choice

08 Jan

I have been bitten by vampires…

…well, just the craze. Of course. By 2 famous vampire stories of the previous year: the book saga turned into not quite enticing movie, “Twilight” and HBO’s TV series “True Blood”.

The “mature” kind of vampire from “True Blood” HBO series had been running in my head the past months. Mature in the sense because it has scenes of naked humans and vampires doing their sexual urges or as termed by a colleague, had given into their animalistic instincts. Too bad it’s over and I have to wait for quite sometime until the air the second season. With its sex and blood visual content, I realy doubt if HBO Asia will be airing it. It will be such a “duh” if they cut the scenes and sensor it. (Thank God for Torrents!)

Twilight Saga Book 2

With the other craze, the supposedly created for teens vampire story, “Twilight”, I’m trying to not to bash it’s movie version. Let’s just say it’s a good thing I’ve read the book first before watching it. I know it’s really a challenge because imagination is quite personal and subjective.Each person who’ve read it will have a different visualization of a scene, even the characters.

But anyhow, the saga really made me go back into reading again. That was the best part I guess.

Admittedly, I have indeed jumped on the bandwagon. But being influenced for the “in” thing, I’m still quite a latebloomer.

I just finished reading the second book of the saga: New Moon. It was quite dragging and boring compared to the first one. I don’t know, perhaps because not much of “kilig” that I got from Edward in the first book. But even though, it’s not as that “kilig” it still has this urge for a reader to finish it and know how it will end. But the main reason for me writing here in my blog or even risking myself of being late in going to work (yes, I’m writing my blog in my place…) is because of something I can’t get off my head…

Jacob Black.

I shared this thought after filling my growling stomach and composing myself from just a 3-hours of sleep while talking with my friend Aileen who had already finished reading the book way ahead of me. She beamed instantly the moment I told her I feel for Jacob. She thought so too. She found a pattern of my choices. She said I always choose the “good” ones. At the back of my head I was thinking… the good ones that are always getting beaten up.

I feel for him, for Jake, as Bella addressed him. I mean it would have been Edward, (well, it WAS Edward when I was reading the first book) the main guy in the book would be the aspired prince for me the would bring the “Happily ever after…” But I’m no typical lady. Yes. Like what my friend Aileen mentioned and thought of prior to me finishing the book, I would “fall” for Jacob Black.

I just realized why such characters would steal my heart from those who are usually the “lead” guys. I thought I’d just prefered what the crowd wouldn’t like. I don’t want to be jus tlike them, or totally jump into the wagon. Example, I never drooled over Brad Pitt during my high school years. I like Brendan Frasier back then. In Backstreet Boys, when all goes for Nick Carter I went for Howie Dorough.

But aside from that reason, why would I like a secondary role? Because I felt <u>more</u> for Jacob. He’s not the “flashy” one. He’s not the one who’ll be chosen first. He’s just the one who’s always be there for you, waiting, on stand by. He’s the best friend who’d protect you and do everything for you in his powers. He’s just there loving you in the background and continuously loving you despite the fact you’ll not give back the same kind of love.

And will all those things, he is still NOT the chosen one. He’s not THE one. But he loves you unconditionally. Pure love, I say. PURE love.

And to that, I just thought could be it because Edward left and it was Jacob who came in? I hated being in a situation that’s unsure or being left hanging. I hold some grudges perhaps and can’t forget (or forgive) easily.  I believe I’m not easily persuaded by those who did wrong to me, who hurt me. Perhaps, I’m the practical one now because I’ve been hurt and hopes that the next time around I deserve to be loved and be happy.

And perhaps, I see myself in Jacob Black. The one who’s always there. The one always in the waiting. The second choice… the one not chosen.

“He was my best friend. I would always love him, and it would never, ever be enough.” – Bella in the book, New Moon

 
1 Comment

Posted by on January 8, 2009 in Emotional and Physical Turmoil, Realizations

 

Tags: , , , ,

One response to “The Second Choice

  1. binary options tips

    July 5, 2013 at 12:33 pm

    In the event that and also rise inside worth, the
    actual investor gets the to certainly find the binary options tips, nevertheless is just not compelled
    to do so. Although all of these financial signals can be used to your current gain whenever buying binary options tips,
    such as whatever else, there’s nothing guaranteed. To give an example, if your tough items survey is actually good, you may want to spend money on binary options tips in corporations similar to Boeing or perhaps comparable companies that creates substantial business oriented product. Retail product sales reference store goods, or items which are ordered for example devices, apparel, and almost anything you should purchase most importantly sequence stores like Target or Wal-Mart.

     

Leave a Reply

 
