RSS

Bangkok Clean Up

25 May

The youngest Thai volunteer cleaning the streets of BKK. Photo from http://www.bangkokrecorder.com

I read over Bangkok Recorder yesterday that Thais, both city cleaners and volunteers, are cleaning up today. Latest information and photos I’ve viewed and shared here came from Bangkok Recorder and my dear friend Gian who’s working and currently residing in Bangkok.

What's left of Central World Mall. Photo by Gian (25 May 2010)

It moves me how the Thais help out in cleaning the mess that the months of protest left behind. I honestly don’t choose sides (or colors) but like what I mentioned in my previous entry, it broke my heart learning about what has happened to Bangkok and how Central World Mall plus other buildings were destroyed. Now, thanks to good news, like any other storm there’s a bright light making way, even leaving a rainbow of hopes ^_^

The kid you see in photo above (thanks again to Bangkok Recorder for sharing this) is the youngest among the volunteers to clean up. I found a few more photos of the Bangkok cleanup by this local Thai freelance photographer. Too bad he didn’t allow me to post his photos here in my blog. Just check out his link here. I could just imagine how fast the clean up and the recovery Bangkok can have with all great gesture it’s getting from both city workers and community volunteers. I bet they’ll be able to clean up faster than the Philippines getting cleaned up from all these election campaign posters-junks still scattered or hanging in its streets!

Thai city cleaners and citizen volunteers cleaning up Bangkok (photo from http://www.thaiphotoblogs.com)

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
