RSS

My Plant Died on Me

27 May

It’s the only plant I have. It’s an indoor mini plant that is soilless (Miura hydro culture plants) and needed to be watered twice a week. According to the brochure its name is pachira aquatica locally called “money tree”. After having it with me for months and being my sole living companion in my unit, it shed its last batch of tiny stem and leaves yesterday.

It died on me.

I’m not so sure if it’s the heat. I gave my neighbor the same kind of soilless plant and theirs is still green and alive. I didn’t neglect it as some of my friends speculated. I greeted it “good morning” everyday and never failed to say “goodbye” when leaving it and “hello” when I get back from work. Other said it might have absorb all my bad vibes or bad energies surrounding me the past weeks specially during the Mercury retrograde. I guess it’s the same concept as that of the gold fish dying as the fish sacrifices its life rather than a human life being taken away in the household where the fish belongs…

Superstitions… but the negative vibes and my plant dying could be. ‘Cause the weird part was, the leaves was not the usual browning, drying and crunchy thing. It’s like bright green leaves turning olive green, then brownish but not drying and crunchy. More of soft withered and then droops down or falls off.

To Manny (my plant’s name) thank you…

Manny, my Miura plant (what's left of it)

Time to get a new one. But I’ll get 2 different kinds this time.


 

Tags: , , , , ,

9 responses to “My Plant Died on Me

  1. slaveboi

    May 31, 2010 at 3:56 pm

    This was sad and sweet and cute all at the same time, Miss Nemcy. I’m sad because your plant died. I thought it was sweet that you named him. And the way you talked to him was so cute. :p Maybe it’s not dead yet, Miss Nemcy. Plants are tough. :)

     
    • Nemcy

      June 2, 2010 at 8:36 pm

      I have a habit of naming things para I can easily address to it (as if naman sasagot sila kapag kinausap ko di ba?) Sabi rin kasi nung tindera dapat kakausapin daw. Baka na-pressure sa akin sa pagkausap ko everyday. But I don’t pressure the plant naman to give me money everyday… hahaha. Na-stress sa akin! :p

      I still hope na mabubuhay s’ya. Kahit ganun itsura n’ya, di ko pa rin tinatapon. Though di ko na kinakausap, I still put water sa pot n’ya. Di ko lang alam kung the plant drinks the water talaga or nag-evaporate lang sa init ng panahon ngayon.

       
  2. yuuki-chan

    June 13, 2010 at 9:45 am

    Oh no! A good friend of mine gave me the same plant a couple of weeks ago. Now, only a few leaves remain though I have to say I’m at fault as well. :)
    I hope your next plant lives well. :)

     
    • Nemcy

      June 16, 2010 at 6:22 pm

      Swerte daw ‘yung plant specially if it’s given to you, Yuuki. Be sure wala s’ya sa direct sunlight and it gets enough water… BUT not too much. Bawal malunod ‘yung plant. Good luck and take care of it ok? Ü

       
  3. Jim

    September 6, 2010 at 12:35 pm

    i got 1 too, got pic of him in FB… bka nabilad mu xa ng sobra sa araw, kc ung skin nsa ofis lng and buhay na buhay xa

     
    • Nemcy

      September 6, 2010 at 1:41 pm

      Lucky you, Jim. There’s no direct sunlight naman sa kwarto ko. Lungkot lang ako kasi wala na rin sa Trinoma ‘yung stall na binilhan ko nung little tree/plant na ‘yun e :(

      Thanks for visiting and commenting on my post. Balik ka ulit ;)

       
      • kaye

        September 18, 2013 at 10:32 am

        I think there’s one sa SM north. I bought Piggu (my fortune plant) from there. Malapit lng yung stall nila sa J.Co. if I remember correctly. I once neglected Piggu and accidentally put him in direct sunlight. One of his bamboo shoots (is that right?) shrivelled up and became brown. I hope he will survive this . T^T

         
  4. trickescota

    March 18, 2011 at 10:27 am

    it is really tough to read this story of yours with ur plant ms. nemcy. tragic and sad. kakabgay lang din po sa akin kahapon ng kapatid ko ng the same plant that u had. tanung ko lng din po, sabi kasi sa instruction maximum water lvl: 1/4 of the size of the plant. do i have to retain that kind amount of water or should i wait for it to dry up a little and that’s the time to drip again water? salamat po.

     
    • Nemcy

      March 21, 2011 at 10:10 am

      Subjective kasi yung 1/4 na sinasabi nila e. What I did was maintain na may konting-konting tubig lang sa bottom. Masama rin kasing mababad sa water. A friend of mine na may alam sa plants explained to me that yung “special rocks” din daw ay nauubusan ng minerals or those chemicals needed for the plant to sustain. Either dapat daw I transferred it in a bigger pot for it to grow further OR pinalitan ko ‘yung “rocks” after a few months.

      Good luck in taking care of your plant. Balitaan mo ako ha? ;) Swerte daw ‘yan. I’m thinking of getting one again kaso wala na sila sa Trinoma where I bought mine :(

       

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

