RSS

Saudade

01 Jun

It’s read as sau-da-jee as one of my writer friends told me. It’s a new word for me but it was quite timely and accidental that I discovered this word. For the past weeks I have this feeling that I can’t fully explained. I can’t find the write words to describe it.

I was searching the net when I stumbled upon kartoen.be and the strip below caught my attention:

By Jeroen from his site http://www.kartoen.be

I have a tendency to be nosy. Seeing that there are comments on this strip I decide to check it out lo and behold, I read the term… saudade. He provided the link explaining it from wikipedia.com. It says there:

Saudade is a Portuguese and Galacian word for a feeling of nostalgic longing for something or someone that one was fond of and which is lost. It often carries a fatalist tone and a repressed knowledge that the object of longing might really never return.”

Tough.

Other line that struck me says:

“It may also be translated as a deep longing or yearning for something which does not exist or is unattainable.”

Match.

And with that, Mr. month of June… I hope you bring me a better feeling than this. Mid-year. The last half to have a life to live, fight for and make the most of 2010.

(Which reminds me, I haven’t hit any beach yet and summer (by month) is over already)

 

Tags: , , , , ,

4 responses to “Saudade

  1. slaveboi

    June 9, 2010 at 5:45 pm

    Miss Nemcy, sorry for just commenting now. I love the word, and I love the feeling that it evokes. May pagka masochistic siguro ako. LOL.🙂

    I really hope the month of June is your month Miss Nemcy! I hope someone or something comes to make you forget these feelings of longing.🙂

     
  2. yuuki-chan

    June 13, 2010 at 9:43 am

    Saudade huh…
    I like it🙂. Thanks for my new word today!

     
    • Nemcy

      June 16, 2010 at 6:19 pm

      Oh you’re welcome, Yuuki… and thanks for visiting my blog ^_^

       
  3. Duas na Matina

    July 2, 2013 at 5:45 am

    Hi, i am brazilian and looking for an image that explains saudade in english i accidentally came to your blog, i saw this and i needed to comment😀 this is a word we really use a lot in Brazil (well, it’s a word in Portuguese) and i wanted to tell you, really that comic expresses what saudade is like. As i didn’t find en explanation as i wanted in english, i started to do one: Saudade is a word in Portuguese that doesn’t have a direct translation to English. In Portuguese the word is used to express the feeling of missing someone or something you want to see again or to have. It is more like nostalgia. There is no comparison to a word in English, the most similar expression would be “I miss you”, but the Brazilian expression is much more emotional than this. And also, in my search I found a website that is good to explain some Brazilian expressions that don’t have translation to English, if you have the interest http://reallifebh.com/how-to-say-saudades🙂 good post!

     

Leave a Reply

 
