RSS

Lucky Me! Pancit Canton’s “NEW LOOK”

24 Sep

It’s Friday. Everyone’s out and about, having dinner, celebrating, meeting friends and/or getting drunk tonight, but not me. I decided to stay home (cue: capital L appearing on my forehead) and got too lazy to go down and grab a bite (to think my location has a whole stretch of cafés and restaurants to choose from). So I scavenged in my cupboard (and my neighbor’s fridge as well) for whatever I can “create” tonight.

And what’s in almost every grocery to-buy list, should be on stock and could be considered if not no. 2 or no. 3 in Filipinos staple food after rice: PANCIT CANTON.

There’s a bunch of brands out there but I’d say Lucky Me could have been the first and made the “instants” industry boom here. After more than a decade, starting from their original flavor (the yellow-colored package) they now have (counting fingers) 5 flavors. And just recently, I found out (and finally got time to take a photo of it, because I am to devour my last “copy” of it) that Lucky Me gave it’s pancit canton a “makeover”.

(Top) Sweet & Spicy flavor's old packaging design (Bottom) Lucky Me's NEW Look

When I was in the supermarket, I almost missed buying my stack of pancit canton. I guess being a designer and a consumer at the same time I always go for visual cues. I got used to Lucky Me’s color sign when piled up on shelves. I guess I was caught surprise with the change. Good thing I still have one left in my cupboard of their old packaging for comparison. And yes, it’s my cue to do my groceries once I ran out of “instants” supply.

I haven’t encountered any TV ads yet if they’ve announced they’re new look and I hope their sales wasn’t affect.  Because as a loyal consumer, I almost missed it and could probably bought some other brand for the meantime. I was in a sort of panic at that buying time. And yes (again), my grocery list comprise mostly of my “instants” supply. Mostly these variants of pancit canton. (I have lazy days moments in cooking, I live alone remember? Quick and single meal foods like these instants are my salvation!)

Basically everything is new except the logo: from the product shot, to the font used and the layout. They tried to maintain the flavors distinctive color. But for a food product, they’re brave enough to use black. Usually black is avoided as much as possible so colors and/or design won’t look dark, heavy and/or muddy. Though I missed buying the 2 other flavors (original which is yellow in the old packaging, and calamansi that would probably be brighter green), I’d see that there are recurring images in black in all of their packaging: black plate, black band as background of the flavor  and that black diagonal shading for those with chili flavors.

The new look for the 3 Lucky Me flavors. 2 other flavors not in picture: original flavor (perhaps that would be on the yellow side) and calamansi flavor (on a brighter green side)

So, what do you think of Lucky Me Pancit Canton’s new packaging?

———-

Aside from their new look, their extra hot chili flavor has some extra kick now! It’s spicier that before. I got surprised (again) when I ate it awhile ago before I wrote this blog. Had to chug 2 full glasses of water after :p

Should I keep the old spicy & sweet flavor pancit canton or cook it later on? It could have been a month old already in my cupboard though…O_o

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “Lucky Me! Pancit Canton’s “NEW LOOK”

  1. nick mata

    December 7, 2010 at 7:49 am

    Packaging is effective and protective of the canton product.

    Btw, Being one of the best selling product and profitable, can my people communicate to you thru me? how to connect to your company for assistance and sharing the blessing to poorest of the poor in my community this yuletide season.

    …Every one of us patronize your product anyway, all the time.

    thanx and regards. God bless you!

     
    • Nemcy

      September 2, 2011 at 7:54 am

      Hi Nick.

      Sorry for the super late reply. I’ve connected this comment of yours through Lucky Me Pancit Canton’s Facebook Page. Hopefully they’ll contact you.

      Thanks for visiting and commenting on my blog. Sorry again for the late reply😦

      God bless you too and good luck Ü

       
  2. Rachelle

    September 1, 2011 at 10:12 pm

    Hello to Lucky Me pancit canton management and employee staff! Aside from the taste of your product, what I like with you guys are your advertisements in the television! As in “super excellent!” Young generations are being convinced of the ‘true values’ that they should learn especially when it comes to the real meaning of love! Before it’s about getting pregnant. And now, the value of being a real men – those who know how to wait! VERY TRUE! Please continue advertising your product with the original values that we have learned from our parents before. Keep it up!

     
    • Nemcy

      September 2, 2011 at 7:51 am

      Hi Rachelle.

      Thanks for visiting and sharing your thoughts with my blog entry. But unfortunately, I don’t work for Lucky Me/Monde or the agency that handles their design/advertising. But I’ve already linked your comment through their Facebook Fan page and hopefully they’ll contact you.

      Thanks again and good luck Ü

       

Leave a Reply

 
